Drawing Distance

Ask questions about the ETS2 mods here. If useful they will be added to the Q&A / Development updates.
Forum rules
Please do not post any crashes, malfunctions or other issues with the mod in this forum. If you have any issues with the mod, please post them here. This forum is only for questions/feedback towards the team, not for solving crashes.
Post Reply
User avatar
Axel Slingerland
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 Nov 2013 03:30

26 Jun 2016 02:42

Can anyone enlighten me on the subject of Drawing Distance? I noticed when I download ProMods files that when you create the def files that there are three options for this. I am using Standard. I would like to increase the drawing distance if it isn't too late. Will it kill the game I make a new def file after the fact for 2.01 using the def files for 2.03? If that won't work, what is the difference (code wise) between the def files made as Standard, High and Ultra? Can I edit the files I have to increase the drawing distance?

As always, many thanks in advance...
Today has been cancelled. Go back to bed.

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 10602
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

26 Jun 2016 03:59

You should always have compatible def files, so don't use a 2.01 def on 2.03 or vice versa
However it does not hurt to regenerate a new def file and replace the old one (providing it is the same version)
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

User avatar
Axel Slingerland
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 Nov 2013 03:30

26 Jun 2016 07:24

Ok, so the def files from 2.03 won't work for 2.01. That answers one of my two questions. Thank you for that.

What about the others?

What is the difference (code wise) between the def files made as Standard, High and Ultra?
Can I edit the files I have to increase the drawing distance?
Today has been cancelled. Go back to bed.

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 10602
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

26 Jun 2016 08:47

Code: Select all

// lod draw distance
if (isset($_POST["lod"])) {
	switch ($_POST["lod"]) {
	    case 1:
		$lod_start = "260.0";
		$lod_end = "310.0";
	        break;
	    case 2:
		$lod_start = "410.0";
		$lod_end = "460.0";
	        break;
	    case 3:
		$lod_start = "610.0";
		$lod_end = "660.0";
	        break;
	    case 4:
		$lod_start = "910.0";
		$lod_end = "960.0";
	        break;
	}
}else{  
		$lod_start = "410.0";
		$lod_end = "460.0";
}
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

User avatar
Axel Slingerland
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 Nov 2013 03:30

27 Jun 2016 06:56

Thanks! What file is that in? Or what file does it go in?
Today has been cancelled. Go back to bed.

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 10602
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

27 Jun 2016 08:25

It's not suitable to go in a def file, the excerpt I posted is source code of the def generator.. Just do a search and find the lod parameters and you can find those values
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

User avatar
Axel Slingerland
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 Nov 2013 03:30

27 Jun 2016 09:16

For some odd reason, I can't find any of it. Using the Find in Files function of UltraEdit, I searched for $_POST["lod", $lod_start = and $lod_start = and nothing was found in the folder for the standard def file. You are talking about the standard def file for ProMods 2.01, right?
Today has been cancelled. Go back to bed.

User avatar
ScuL
Founder
Posts: 10602
Joined: 31 Jul 2013 23:51
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

27 Jun 2016 09:57

The lod section is as following

Code: Select all

	# Currently we use:
	#
	# - first lod class for trees.
	# - second lod class for grass (detail vegetation).
	#
	# Note:
	# Make sure that (end - start) distance for grass
	# is not higher than end/9.0 for proper lod fading.
	leaves_lod_start: (240.0, 410.0, 50.0)
	leaves_lod_end:   (300.0, 460.0, 100.0)
I am Image Dutch living in Image New Zealand and I speak Image EN Image DE Image SE Image FR
Image

User avatar
Axel Slingerland
Posts: 61
Joined: 03 Nov 2013 03:30

29 Jun 2016 21:03

I don't get it. I found this:

# Currently we use only first lod class for trees.
leaves_lod_start: (240.0, 910.0, 50.0)
leaves_lod_end: (300.0, 960.0, 100.0)


And that's it. But what I am after is a way to make things in the mirrors stop flashing on and off, and the mountains in the distance stop doing what ever it is that makes it appear and disappear like it does. I don't know what to call it, but it is the biggest immersion breaker there is, second only to the way the truck crashes sometimes. But I am beginning to have my doubts about whether either one can be changed. At least by me anyway...

But in any case, thanks for your help, SkuL. I appreciate it.
Today has been cancelled. Go back to bed.



Post Reply

Return to “Questions & Feedback ETS2”

  • Information