Any way for small cities to appear on world map?

Ask questions about the ETS2 mods here. If useful they will be added to the Q&A / Development updates.
Forum rules
Please do not post any crashes, malfunctions or other issues with the mod in this forum. If you have any issues with the mod, please post them here. This forum is only for questions/feedback towards the team, not for solving crashes.
Post Reply
Airwave1
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Aug 2017 11:23

16 Sep 2017 12:32

I downloaded Promods for the first time recently and I have to say: I was blown away! Awesome work! I was looking in the files (something I like to do) and noticed that my home city, Zgierz, is included in the files and there are companies "registered" there. I also saw Iłża and a few other cities that are active cities but are not on the world map. Is there any way for them to show up? Like changing a line in the city.sii file or something?

User avatar
Nathan_A_RF
Moderator
Posts: 2359
Joined: 10 Jul 2014 15:45
Donation rank:
Location: East Sussex/Southampton
Contact:

16 Sep 2017 12:50

Go to your ETS2 folder and into your mod folder. Open the ProMods def file with 7-zip and go to "def", and then "city". You can open up any def file and edit the text as shown below, to change how big the city appears at various levels of zoom on the map

For example, this is a medium city:

Code: Select all

	### MEDIUM CITY ###
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0  
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0  // close zoom for minimap
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.8  // far zoom for monimap
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0  // city zoom for world map
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0  // closest zoom for world map
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 1.0  // middle zoom for world map
	city_pin_scale_factor[]: 0.8  // whole world map zoom
If you have any problems or mess up the def file, you can always download another one from the Download page.

P.S. some cities in the def file are not actually in the mod yet
Grab the insecticide, I'm clearing bugs ~ Nathan_A_RF - Moderator, Beta Tester & Bug Fixer
Florence + The Machine / Fox Stevenson

Airwave1
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Aug 2017 11:23

16 Sep 2017 13:19

Hello Nathan, thanks for your reply
IMO the reason they are not there is because they do not have "bubbles" on the world map. For the cities that are there on the map and are small, when you zoom out the text gets smaller but they do not disappear. The ones I want to show up are not there even when I add the city_pin_scale_factor, because they don't have a city pin. And I know for sure that at least 4 of these cities exist in Poland, because I have had jobs to and from these and I get the "x DISCOVERED" text when I enter for the 1st time. They don't seem to have a city pin.

User avatar
Josh0
Posts: 2965
Joined: 20 Dec 2015 02:10

16 Sep 2017 23:36

There are three conditions for a city to appear on the map (both the city name and the city pin):
  1. A city item (box) must be placed and associated with a defined city.
  2. The "Show in ui map" flag must be enabled for the city item.
  3. The city_pin_scale_factor parameters in the city definition file must have a value greater than 0.0.
If any of the conditions are not met, then the city will not appear on the map. Conditions 1 & 2 are set in the sector data using the map editor. Condition 3 is set in the city definition file. Assuming we are talking about ProMods 2.20, for the two cities you mentioned:
  • City Zgiers, Poland has a city item, but the "Show in ui map" flag is not set.
  • City Iłża, Poland has two city items, but the "Show in ui map" flag is not set in either instance. There is also no city_pin_scale_factor parameters in the city definition file (/def/city/ilza.sii).
I speculate the developer(s) intended these cities to be invisible on the map. Here are a few reasons why a developer might choose not to enable the city in the map:
  • Zgiers is very close to Łódź, so if both names appeared on the map they would likely conflict.
  • There are two companies in Zgiers and both are incoming-cargo-only (Typically the developers will only make a city visible if it has some outgoing-cargo jobs).
  • There are three companies in Iłża and all are incoming-cargo-only.

Airwave1
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Aug 2017 11:23

17 Sep 2017 11:14

Thank you very much Josh, this is exactly the answer I was looking for

User avatar
Parseccc
Posts: 22
Joined: 02 Jul 2017 18:31
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

17 Sep 2017 14:21

Something I noticed in the "city" folder in the "def" file was that Beograd (Belgrade) was in there even though it's not in the game. I also noticed that Turku had similar code as Belgrade even though Turku is in the game. This is what beograd.sii looks like:

Code: Select all

city_data: city.beograd
{
	city_name: "Београд (Beograd)"
	short_city_name: "Београд"
	city_name_uppercase: "Београд (Beograd)"
	country: serbia

	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0

	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0

	vehicle_brands[]: "man"

	truck_lp_template[]:"01 222-33"

	truck_lp_def0[]:"BG"

	truck_lp_def1[]:"<offset hshift=1 vshift=-5><img src=/material/ui/lp/serbia/icon.mat color=FFFFFFFF><offset hshift=-18 vshift=5>"

	truck_lp_def2[]:"1"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"2"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"3"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"4"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"5"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"6"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"7"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"8"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"9"
	truck_lp_def2[]:"0"

	truck_lp_def3[]:"A"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"B"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"C"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"D"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"E"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"F"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"G"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"H"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"J"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"K"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"L"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"M"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"N"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"P"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"Q"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"R"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"S"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"T"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"U"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"V"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"X"
	truck_lp_def3[]:"Y"

	ai_lp_template[]:"01 222-33"

	ai_lp_def0[]:"BG"

	ai_lp_def1[]:"<offset hshift=1 vshift=-5><img src=/material/ui/lp/serbia/icon.mat color=FFFFFFFF><offset hshift=-18 vshift=5>"

	ai_lp_def2[]:"1"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"2"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"3"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"4"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"5"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"6"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"7"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"8"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"9"
	ai_lp_def2[]:"0"

	ai_lp_def3[]:"A"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"B"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"C"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"D"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"E"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"F"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"G"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"H"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"J"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"K"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"L"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"M"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"N"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"P"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"Q"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"R"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"S"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"T"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"U"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"V"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"X"
	ai_lp_def3[]:"Y"
}
And turku.sii:

Code: Select all

city_data: city.turku
{
	city_name: "Turku"
	short_city_name: "Turku"
	city_name_uppercase: "TURKU"
	country: finland

	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0
	map_x_offsets[]: 0

	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0
	map_y_offsets[]: 0

	vehicle_brands[]: "volvo"

	truck_lp_template[]:"000-111"

	truck_lp_def0[]:"A"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"B"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"C"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"E"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"F"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"G"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"H"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"I"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"J"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"K"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"L"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"M"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"N"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"O"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"R"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"S"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"T"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"U"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"V"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"X"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"Y"
	truck_lp_def0[]:"Z"

	truck_lp_def1[]:"0"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"1"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"2"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"3"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"4"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"5"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"6"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"7"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"8"
	truck_lp_def1[]:"9"

}

I don't know if it has to do with the fact that Turku was in ProMods since the very beginning, but I'm not exactly a pro with this.

User avatar
Josh0
Posts: 2965
Joined: 20 Dec 2015 02:10

17 Sep 2017 17:44

Parseccc wrote:
17 Sep 2017 14:21
Something I noticed in the "city" folder in the "def" file was that Beograd (Belgrade) was in there even though it's not in the game.
It is true that Belgrade has a definition file, but is not visible in the ProMods map. As Nathan_A_RF said:
Nathan_A_RF wrote:
16 Sep 2017 12:50
P.S. some cities in the def file are not actually in the mod yet
There may be several city definition files like this. It does not guarantee that these cities will appear in a future version of ProMods, only that they might.

User avatar
Parseccc
Posts: 22
Joined: 02 Jul 2017 18:31
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

17 Sep 2017 19:10

Oh okay, thanks for clarifying!



Post Reply

Return to “Questions & Feedback ETS2”

  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests