[WIP] The full real-life ATS 1.6.x Map

General discussions about ATS and pre-development of a ProMods ATS pack
User avatar
Volleybal4life
Moderator
Posts: 6470
Joined: 01 Jun 2014 15:49
Donation rank:
Location: Gouda, South Holland, The Netherlands

02 Feb 2016 23:02

Dear ProMods community,

As some of you may know. I'm working on a real-life map of Euro Truck Simulator 2.
I said to myself. If I can do this for ETS2, I can do this for ATS too! So here it is:

A full navigation-map of American Truck Simulator!

A little bit of an explanation about the way I named the roads:
CA, I-5, Intersection (I-5,4) - Intersection (I-5,I-80)
  • CA, = At the start of every name, is the state's abbreviation.
    I-5, = The number of the on-map road, mostly this is the same as it is in-game. But I also did the in-game roads that don't have a number. So that number is also said here.
    Intersection (I-5,4) = The start of the road-section, both in-game and on-map. Here it's an intersection between the Interstate Highway 5 and the State Highway 4.
    Intersection (I-5,I-80) = The end of the road-section, both in-game and on-map. Here it's an intersection between the Interstate Highway 5 and Interstate Highway 80. It can also be a city-name or a border-crossing.
The roads are always divided in sections, from intersection to intersection, from intersection to city, from intersection to border-crossing, from city to city or from city to border-crossing.
That's because that way I can change the map-view more easily. :)

The real-life roads are drawn as close to their in-game counterparts as possible.
That's why I did some stretches of road for like three times before I was satisfied with the result.
This also means that some in-game roads follow multiple real-life roads.


That was the introduction of what I actually want to share...
As a big thank you to the whole of SCS here are:
The amazing facts of ATS! (In alphabetical order)
Number of states/cities added (only new states, not the states where only a few cities were added):
  • SCS (base game): 2 states, 32 cities
    • California, Nevada
    SCS (Arizona DLC):1 state, 15 cities
    • Arizona
    (Cities & states list)
Length of roadways: (Only highways, country roads and parts of the roads to cities. Not the roads inside cities)
The in-game length was determined by counting the lengths of all roads in the Google My Maps and divide that by 34,5 (the in-game map-scale is 1:34,5). (The miles where done by Google)
The result is amazing!! See for yourself:
United States (Whole map, for the part which is visible on the map-view)
  • - sections of road
    - km on-map/- km in-game
    - miles on-map/- miles in-game
Per state that is:
The Facts wrote: Arizona (Work in progress):
  • 15 Cities (SCS)
    - sections of road
    - km on-IRL-map/- km in-game
    - miles on-IRL-map/- miles in-game
California (Work in progress):
  • 21 cities (SCS)
    - sections of road
    - km on-IRL-map/- km in-game
    - miles on-IRL-map/- miles in-game
Nevada (Work in progress):
  • 10 cities (SCS)
    - sections of road
    - km on-IRL-map/- km in-game
    - miles on-IRL-map/- miles in-game
Before one of you guys says it. I want to say this
Purno wrote: The illustration itself isn't impressive, but what it illustrates is impressive. :P
I agree with Purno.

Happy Trucking!

Volleybal4life

P.S.
And yes, I am going to keep it up to date! :mrgreen:

IRL means In Real Life
Last edited by Volleybal4life on 01 Apr 2017 08:52, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Added more details
Spamming the forum since June 2014



Image
Some say, I'm addicted to ETS2. But then I say. No, it's ProMods, it's a way of life.
No. 3 forum spammer!

You want a game map?
You get a game map! (ETS2 (WIP))
You get a game map! (ATS (WIP))

User avatar
penguinaz
Developer
Posts: 1204
Joined: 26 Sep 2014 06:42
Donation rank:
Location: Toronto

03 Feb 2016 01:22

I think we should add a ATS subforum so we can post ATS related stuff there :)
Mapping... somewhere

iBallasticwolf2
Posts: 26
Joined: 25 Dec 2015 20:46
Location: Kenton County, KY, U.S.A.

03 Feb 2016 01:33

I think you missed Santa Clara in the game. Otherwise nice map!

I also find it strange SCS included Oakdale instead of Modesto.
OS: Win 10 64-bit
CPU: Intel i3-4370 3.8 Ghz
GPU: EVGA GT 740 SC 4 GB
PSU: EVGA 650 watt bronze
RAM: 8 GB
SSD: Samsung Evo 840 128 GB
HDD: Western DIgital 1 TB

User avatar
smith121363
Posts: 297
Joined: 20 Jun 2014 12:08
Donation rank:
Location: Brownwood, Texas, USA

03 Feb 2016 02:01

I find a lot of things they did or did not do as strange. Thank God for modders . :lol:

iBallasticwolf2
Posts: 26
Joined: 25 Dec 2015 20:46
Location: Kenton County, KY, U.S.A.

03 Feb 2016 02:38

I also find it strange they included Santa Clara instead of San Jose.
OS: Win 10 64-bit
CPU: Intel i3-4370 3.8 Ghz
GPU: EVGA GT 740 SC 4 GB
PSU: EVGA 650 watt bronze
RAM: 8 GB
SSD: Samsung Evo 840 128 GB
HDD: Western DIgital 1 TB

User avatar
penguinaz
Developer
Posts: 1204
Joined: 26 Sep 2014 06:42
Donation rank:
Location: Toronto

03 Feb 2016 06:06

I don't see Santa Clara in the in-game map...
Mapping... somewhere

User avatar
Volleybal4life
Moderator
Posts: 6470
Joined: 01 Jun 2014 15:49
Donation rank:
Location: Gouda, South Holland, The Netherlands

03 Feb 2016 06:39

Same for me, I only see Santa Cruz. Which is on the map too.
Spamming the forum since June 2014



Image
Some say, I'm addicted to ETS2. But then I say. No, it's ProMods, it's a way of life.
No. 3 forum spammer!

You want a game map?
You get a game map! (ETS2 (WIP))
You get a game map! (ATS (WIP))

Shiva
Posts: 868
Joined: 21 May 2015 01:09

03 Feb 2016 10:28

Volleybal4life wrote:(the in-game map-scale is 1:34,5).
Oh.... I thought it was 1:30 something :/
I wish they had used the same scale as in ETS2.

You're doing a good job on these RL Maps :)
Monaco 2011 Route. Traffic map.
Possible ETS2 route 1 and/or 2?

iBallasticwolf2
Posts: 26
Joined: 25 Dec 2015 20:46
Location: Kenton County, KY, U.S.A.

03 Feb 2016 12:29

Volleybal4life wrote:Same for me, I only see Santa Cruz. Which is on the map too.
Strange, I thought the game had it
OS: Win 10 64-bit
CPU: Intel i3-4370 3.8 Ghz
GPU: EVGA GT 740 SC 4 GB
PSU: EVGA 650 watt bronze
RAM: 8 GB
SSD: Samsung Evo 840 128 GB
HDD: Western DIgital 1 TB

xpto
Posts: 9
Joined: 23 May 2015 14:50

04 Feb 2016 12:57

After you great work in ETS2 (WIP), now you have another one :)

Nice job my friend.



Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest