[Fixed] [#16976/#17102/#17103] [2.32] Black textures with OpenGL

This is where fixed bugs are moved into
User avatar
MandelSoft
Lead Developer
Posts: 3763
Joined: 08 Aug 2013 10:48
Location: Zoetermeer [NL]

12 Dec 2018 21:07

A little update.

The good news is that we've found the root of the problem and a way to solve it; apparently, all black objects are using a DDS-texture that is slightly not in the correct format. Fortunately, we can fix that with a batch tool, so that's not too much effort, just a lot of patience while the batch tool does its work.

The bad news is that we are talking about 14 000 texture files, totalling a whopping 4.5 GB (uncompressed). This is not easy to redistribute to our users, since the package is so big. But we can at least promise that at the next release of ProMods, this won't be a problem anymore.
Your daily dose of wisdom!
╔═══╗────╔═╗╔═╗────╔╗
║╔═╗║────║║╚╝║║────║║
║╚═╝╠═╦══╣╔╗╔╗╠══╦═╝╠══╗
║╔══╣╔╣╔╗║║║║║║╔╗║╔╗║══╣
║║──║║║╚╝║║║║║║╚╝║╚╝╠══║
╚╝──╚╝╚══╩╝╚╝╚╩══╩══╩══╝
Don't ask us for a release date; we don't know either.

unknown78
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Jan 2016 20:51

12 Dec 2018 21:20

Thank's alot guys. Can you make a hotfixed version available on the servers so we could download the whole package again ?

StephenHunterUK
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 Oct 2018 12:14

12 Dec 2018 23:28

MandelSoft wrote:
12 Dec 2018 21:07
A little update.

The good news is that we've found the root of the problem and a way to solve it; apparently, all black objects are using a DDS-texture that is slightly not in the correct format. Fortunately, we can fix that with a batch tool, so that's not too much effort, just a lot of patience while the batch tool does its work.

The bad news is that we are talking about 14 000 texture files, totalling a whopping 4.5 GB (uncompressed). This is not easy to redistribute to our users, since the package is so big. But we can at least promise that at the next release of ProMods, this won't be a problem anymore.
Thanks for the update.

rwowen218
Posts: 14
Joined: 06 Apr 2014 21:12
Donation rank:
Location: Toledo, OH

13 Dec 2018 16:48

Thank you for the hard work and good news.

Startape
Posts: 117
Joined: 14 Jul 2017 12:03
Donation rank:

13 Dec 2018 20:34

MandelSoft wrote:
12 Dec 2018 21:07
A little update.

The good news is that we've found the root of the problem and a way to solve it; apparently, all black objects are using a DDS-texture that is slightly not in the correct format. Fortunately, we can fix that with a batch tool, so that's not too much effort, just a lot of patience while the batch tool does its work.

The bad news is that we are talking about 14 000 texture files, totalling a whopping 4.5 GB (uncompressed). This is not easy to redistribute to our users, since the package is so big. But we can at least promise that at the next release of ProMods, this won't be a problem anymore.
Thank you so much for this good news and really good luck !

User avatar
Plum™
Developer
Posts: 192
Joined: 01 Jul 2018 19:59
Location: Kent
Contact:

13 Dec 2018 22:45

MandelSoft wrote:
12 Dec 2018 21:07
A little update.

The good news is that we've found the root of the problem and a way to solve it; apparently, all black objects are using a DDS-texture that is slightly not in the correct format. Fortunately, we can fix that with a batch tool, so that's not too much effort, just a lot of patience while the batch tool does its work.

The bad news is that we are talking about 14 000 texture files, totalling a whopping 4.5 GB (uncompressed). This is not easy to redistribute to our users, since the package is so big. But we can at least promise that at the next release of ProMods, this won't be a problem anymore.
Well done, thanks for fixing it :)
Working somewhere near Exeter
My name is not Plum™ it's just Plum, someone else is just using that username already :P

Yanoisame
Posts: 2
Joined: 30 Jul 2018 06:13

14 Dec 2018 11:32

Me too. I just loaded promods.

StephenHunterUK
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 Oct 2018 12:14

14 Dec 2018 17:35

Thanks for fixing this.

Storm2608
Posts: 13
Joined: 17 Jan 2016 23:15

18 Dec 2018 16:16

First off, I want to really thank the ProMods developers for all their hard work, and I know that they will eventually find a fix for this issue.

I tried a bit of an experiment. I have a Mac, running OS X 10.13.6 and encountered the black textures. I then booted my computer into Windows 7 and copied the data files from the Mac to Windows. I was given the option to launch ETS2 using DirectX 64 bit or OpenGL 64 bit. I booted into DirectX and textures were nearly normal (a building that had been totally black in the Mac was now way over bright but visible) and then shut down ETS2 and launched it using OpenGL 64 bit and textures were all black so the issue is definitely a DirectX/OpenGL problem. My only conundrum is trying to decide what version to play - MacOS and OpenGL or Windows 7 and DirectX.

I will remain patient and confident that in time, this issue will be resolved.

StephenHunterUK
Posts: 73
Joined: 14 Oct 2018 12:14

18 Dec 2018 23:16

The problem I have with DirectX 64 is that the map has to reload after a while, which gets more frequent before you finally have to reboot your computer.



Locked
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: ayrtonBG and 2 guests